By in Random

May I Air a Complaint?

I am sure that someone may jump on the bandwagon and admonish me for complaining. Of course, I suppose that I "deserve" it, considering how others see my calling for less negativity as "not allowing for complaints."

Nonetheless...

My complaint? That I am unable to renew a movie I picked up on September 28th, which is due on the 5th. The reason I am unable to to renew? Someone else has it on hold.

The same is true for a book--a cookbook-- I have had for more than two weeks, but have not had a chance to browse. It is a book on cooking for one. Apparently, there is another solo cook/eater in the area who wants the book, too.

I guess I am going to try to get to the movie this weekend, and look through the book to see if I should put it back on hold again, so the next person cannot renew it. emoticon :winking:

Now you see how complaints can turn quickly into negativity and plotting against others, so that you can be entitled to what you think you may deserve from a situation. It feels inconvenient, and I have a right to voice that frustration!!

Yet, I will always be grateful to the library for having a free system for access to books, movies, and television shows, no matter how many others want me to hurry up and watch or read what they they put on hold!

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Copyright © 2015 Coral Levang

- -

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Time/Article: 15 minutes; 3/15

Coins: 8552, $12.83, 64%

Daily Coins October 1st--100


Image Credit » https://pixabay.com/en/complaining-human-talk-unhappy-154204/ by OpenClipartVectors

You will need an account to comment - feel free to register or login.

Comments

lexiconlover wrote on October 2, 2015, 12:50 PM

I have always found it weird that they don't have more copies of the book. Why give you the option of extending it, if there is a chance it will be put on hold? Never made sense to me.

lexiconlover wrote on October 2, 2015, 12:51 PM

Also look at you kicking butt at posting articles today.

msiduri wrote on October 2, 2015, 12:55 PM

Now there's an idea.

JohnRoberts wrote on October 2, 2015, 1:22 PM

Well, you really aren't in a position to complain. You have the movie until the 5th and it's only fair that someone placing a hold on the movie has priority over a renewal. If you were in their shoes, you would be peeved that you didn't get a movie you placed on hold because someone renewed it.

markgraham wrote on October 2, 2015, 1:27 PM

Complain all you want to, but you may not always get your way. Complaining for me even if it doesn't work in my favor relieves stress a little in a way.

paigea wrote on October 2, 2015, 1:33 PM

Complain away if it makes you feel better. I hope you get it soon!

CoralLevang wrote on October 2, 2015, 2:27 PM

We have a small county library system here in Kitsap. I would have a better chance in the Pierce county system.

CoralLevang wrote on October 2, 2015, 2:29 PM

Now THAT is an idea! Except it would probably be some octogenarian who would get designs on me.

Now, if I could guarantee I would outlive him by several, and he were rich, and had no other heirs.... emoticon :winking:

CoralLevang wrote on October 2, 2015, 2:32 PM

Actually, I am in a position to complain. I just did.
Doesn't seem much different than some people bitching and moaning about anything else around here, does it? ROFLMAO

I think the library should do a 10-day checkout for movies, but I doubt that will ever happen. Or on the one-week checkouts, allow for one renewal only.

CoralLevang wrote on October 2, 2015, 2:33 PM

EXACTLY! That's what I tell people. It's okay to have feelings and share them. It is not okay to be a "Negative Nelly/Ned" and then disparage the world, trying to drag everyone with you.

emoticon :winking:

CoralLevang wrote on October 2, 2015, 2:34 PM

I guess I should start writing about boycotting the library and stuff, huh???


ROFLMAO

Rufuszen wrote on October 2, 2015, 4:06 PM

I am terrible for that too, holding onto things forever

MegL wrote on October 2, 2015, 5:21 PM

I have had to return books earlier than I wanted because someone else wanted them but I have also received books that someone else had out and no doubt they were unable to renew them. It works both ways. emoticon :grin:

Gossamer wrote on October 2, 2015, 5:41 PM

Wouldn't it be weird if it's the same person who wants both the movie and the book?
Maybe they share your exact tastes... or maybe they're stalking you...

allen0187 wrote on October 2, 2015, 6:58 PM

Hopefully, you get your chance in getting that movie and book! Complaining doesn't get anything done... it just gets me more frustrated so I do my best not to complain.

DWDavisRSL wrote on October 2, 2015, 9:09 PM

If you decide there are some recipes in the book you think you might want to try, I see nothing "evil" about putting it on hold again when you turn it in.

wolfgirl569 wrote on October 2, 2015, 11:51 PM

No you may not complain emoticon :grin: I hope you can look through the book and get the movie watched before returning them. But as you say, you can always put another hold on them.

Paulie wrote on October 3, 2015, 2:35 AM

You are so fortunate to have a public free library where you can borrow books and DVDs. Unfortunately I have not found one here in Udonthani where I live.

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:48 AM

I just don't always feel like doing something at the moment I bring them home. LOL

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:49 AM

I am sure it does. I will just return it and put in back on hold. LOL

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:50 AM

Oh, that would be a bit creepy. It's kind of weird that you would think of it. LOL Are you stalking me? emoticon :winking:

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:51 AM

Rarely do I complain. I am too busy doing other things.

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:52 AM

It probably would not hurt me to just take them both back and check them out later anyway. LOL

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:53 AM

Do they have free public library systems in Thailand?

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 4:55 AM

Take away all my fun by telling me I cannot complain? You know I might write a post about you picking on me and not allowing me the right to voice my opinions. emoticon :winking: Of course, I will do it so that no one will be able to pin it on you. I'll protect your good name that way. emoticon :tongue:

wolfgirl569 wrote on October 3, 2015, 11:21 AM

You should have known someone would tell you no when you asked. I had that part of my comment just from reading your title lol And look forward to the post, glad I could help with an idea

BarbRad wrote on October 3, 2015, 6:19 PM

Most books I've renewed have not been on hold. I guess I just don't renew the popular ones.

BarbRad wrote on October 3, 2015, 6:23 PM

I have never figured out why one would want to cook for one. I'd rather cook for two even four if it's something I like and freeze what I don't want to eat again in the next few days. Guess I'm just lazy.

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 9:49 PM

And this one is just for the day. emoticon :winking:

CoralLevang wrote on October 3, 2015, 9:50 PM

*laughs* You're not alone. But I tend to cook for ten still. ROFLMAO

allen0187 wrote on October 4, 2015, 12:28 AM

You must be very busy then CoralLevang !

I'm tried going on days without complaining. Some days are good... others not so much.

Paulie wrote on October 4, 2015, 4:12 AM

With the present military run government, libraries haven't been advertised. Did you know it's against the law to read Orwell's 1984 or Animal Farm in public?