By in Books

Review: 'The Son' by Jo Nesbo

Whether you're a fan of Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole series of novels, or a fan of the noir genre, “The Son” is a novel to pique your interests. This novel is suspense, thriller and police procedural wrapped together in one delectable package.

The Son ,” one of author Nesbo's stand-alone novels, gives the reader co-protaganists that initially seem to be worlds apart – a young man in prison who has confessed to murder and a police officer who exemplifies all the best in Oslo, Norway's detectives.

Their worlds collide when the young man, the Son, escapes from prison. A manhunt ensues, not just by prison officials and the Oslo police, but also by a kingpin in the underworld of Oslo who has his own reasons for wanting the Son silenced.

The underlying theme that brings all of Nesbo's novels together is also present in “The Son”: police corruption. This muddies the waters of who are the “good” guys and who are the “not-so-good” guys. Hold onto your seat because Nesbo so deftly weaves his story that what you think you know comes into question again and again.

I've enjoyed reading every novel of Jo Nesbo's that I've read thus far, but “The Son” swept me off my feet. The plot is intricate, but the reader is never overwhelmed with the intricacy because the action keeps moving forward and the reader is pulled along in the swift but tantalizing current.

Review | | | |


Image Credit » Press Page at JoNesbo.com Photo by Hakon Eikesdal

You will need an account to comment - feel free to register or login.

Comments

AliCanary wrote on November 24, 2014, 1:35 PM

Oh, this is one of my favorite types of genre. I have just recently started reading Patricia Cornwell's books on the recommendation of a friend, and they are very engaging. Here's another author to add to my list!

MegL wrote on November 24, 2014, 3:05 PM

That sounds a very interesting book and the type I like to read.

Ellis wrote on November 24, 2014, 5:59 PM

Hang on a minute....if I hold on to my seat how do I turn the page over?

BarbRad wrote on November 24, 2014, 5:59 PM

This sounds really interesting and all too realistic, since sometimes police corruption does enter the picture these days.

BarbRad wrote on November 24, 2014, 6:00 PM

Once again I regret I can' "like" a comment because I love this one.

Feisty56 wrote on November 24, 2014, 6:15 PM

From what I understand Oslo did have quite a problem with corruption, although I'm not sure if that is a thing of the past or ongoing in actuality. I know I've spoken highly of quite a few books, and deservedly so, but if I was going to recommend just one, "The Son" would be it.

Feisty56 wrote on November 24, 2014, 6:17 PM

Ellis , Ellis, my good friend...and smile-inducer. It is quite simple -- strap yourself into your seat and let your fingers do the walking through the pages. Either that or you could literally hold onto your seat with your hands and use telepathy to turn the pages. : ) Let me know what you decide to do, okay? : )

Feisty56 wrote on November 24, 2014, 6:18 PM

I can recommend this novel without hesitation. It was one of those that I didn't want the book to end.

Feisty56 wrote on November 24, 2014, 6:20 PM

Ah, I haven't read anything by Cornwell in a long time -- thanks for the reminder. A close friend of mine who is an avid reader has begun reading Nesbo after I spoke of his books in such glowing terms -- she's hooked now, too. If you do get around to reading any of Nesbo's books, I'd love to know what you think. : )

celticeagle wrote on November 27, 2014, 10:41 PM

My mom used to like these kinds of books. Sounds interesting.

maxeen wrote on December 1, 2014, 3:28 PM

I haven't read any fiction in years,how do you get the time? I suppose good things are worth the effort,must try harder..

Feisty56 wrote on December 1, 2014, 3:58 PM

This isn't a happy-go-lucky mystery book as some are in the genre. Nesbo examines his characters thoroughly, grit and all. I guess what I'm trying to say is this is a serious read, so when you're up for that, "The Son" would make a wonderful reading journey.

Feisty56 wrote on December 1, 2014, 4:00 PM

To be honest, I haven't had much interest in writing as of late -- I mean I do intellectually, but beyond that I am running on only 3 or 4 out of 8 cylinders. Reading is therapeutic for me in so many ways, so I try to find the time whenever possible.

maxeen wrote on December 1, 2014, 4:35 PM

Trouble is I love reading political stuff and that just takes one on a long.long journey..

Feisty56 wrote on December 1, 2014, 4:52 PM

Oh, I do too! I haven't read much non-fiction lately because it does take me on tangents...lol. The people around me sometimes get tired of my blustering.

maxeen wrote on December 1, 2014, 6:20 PM

I know the feeling !

celticeagle wrote on December 3, 2014, 2:32 AM

Cool. When I am up for a serious read I will keep this one in mind.

Ingrid wrote on December 4, 2014, 2:23 PM

This sounds like an excellent book! I have put it on my books to get list.

MamaOzzy3881 wrote on December 8, 2014, 12:25 AM

This book sounds really interesting. I will have to look it up some time. :)

LoudMan wrote on December 8, 2014, 7:17 AM

I just might have to check this out now. Thank you for the review. Reviews rock!

Feisty56 wrote on December 9, 2014, 1:14 PM

For me, there are only a handful of writers whose work I would recommend without hesitation. Jo Nesbo is one of those, especially for those who enjoy the noir genres.

Feisty56 wrote on December 9, 2014, 1:16 PM

I don't think you will be disappointed. : )

Feisty56 wrote on December 9, 2014, 1:16 PM

Thanks -- I'd really like to know what you think of it once you've read it yourself.