By in Breaking News

Ebola, My opinion on this Health Crisis

Here is my opinion on the current Ebola health crisis within America. I think it is great that healthcare workers are stepping up and helping the victims who contracted the disease. I also think its great that those workers for the most part are staying put and not flying across the country. Perhaps the government will do the right thing, but we are still waiting for a concrete response.

The one that flew may have felt fine and is a good person but I do question her medical ethics. She will have to answer to that after she recovers from Ebola. That is all I will say on that particular matter on a public basis.

This whole medical crisis is scary as heck for most of us. I know this particular disease is less contagious than measles and chicken pox but I think because it has such a high mortally rate it scares people. I am sure that a vaccine will be available soon and the public will settle down.

I hope that during the time that this vaccine is being produced that the public will not do anything crazy. My Facebook feed is full of hysteria concerning Ebola and its sad that people are getting so riled up. Before you share anything that might add to the hysteria please educate yourselves with a reliable source.


You will need an account to comment - feel free to register or login.

Comments

Scorpie wrote on October 18, 2014, 6:06 AM

The sum total about what I know is to keep as far away from sick people as possible.

Cherokee wrote on October 18, 2014, 8:28 AM

It is a sad thing right now that this type of sickness has come into our country. I guess it can make us empathize even just a tiny little bit on what other countries go through.

Patricia wrote on October 18, 2014, 10:40 AM

I think we need to ban all travel in and out of America. Period no ifs ands or butts!!

Kasman wrote on October 18, 2014, 12:54 PM

Your remark about educating yourself from a reliable source is very wise. There is (as you say) much hysteria on the web over ebola. In my opinion (and I have said this elsewhere) 'The Fear of Ebola is Worse Than the Disease Itself'. Too many people jump to conclusions through ignorance. The entire world has been slow to respond to the outbreak in Africa but once we all get our acts together we will (eventually) defeat the disease. By the way there is more than one strain of ebola involved in this latest outbreak with mortality rates varying between 40% and 90%. Read this: http://goo.gl/SxJsAF

Kasman wrote on October 18, 2014, 3:54 PM

Won't work. Can't work. And will never be implemented. It is not possible to quarantine an entire country: for one thing your economy would collapse and millions of people would be out of work. Social unrest would follow and the US would descend into anarchy - which would be worse than the few cases of ebola which might affect your country.

Patricia wrote on October 18, 2014, 3:56 PM

Yeah you are right but what about just for a month?

Kasman wrote on October 18, 2014, 4:04 PM

Panic not dear lady! The health care system in the western world is more than capable of coping with ebola (which isn't the deadliest disease in our world). The reason it has run riot in Africa is down to cultural and social practices such as keeping a deceased person at home for up to three days (to allow family and friends to pay their respects) - definitely the wrong thing to do! It is also common practice for the women of a family to wash and dress the deceased. They do this without any protective clothing and with minimal hygiene standards - no wonder the disease spreads rapidly. The first defence against ebola is knowledge. Read this: http://goo.gl/zFcaQ6

Feisty56 wrote on October 18, 2014, 4:32 PM

I don't agree with the idea that Ebola is a crisis in America. Yes, it's a valid concern, but the media and now the general public have whipped themselves into a frenzy. This doesn't help the situation at all. As you've recommended, consult a reliable, authoritative source to find the answers you seek rather than listen to the rhetoric that abounds.

Patricia wrote on October 19, 2014, 7:27 AM

If Obama did his job properly we wouldn't have any discussion on Ebola. The new "Ebola Czar" didn't even show up for an Ebola meeting. He isn't even in the medical field - duh!!

oldies909 wrote on October 19, 2014, 7:39 PM

I am upset that USA doctors are bringing this disease into the states and putting us all at risk.

idyll wrote on October 20, 2014, 4:28 AM

Heard that the scientist found the medicine to cure this scary virus Ebola, wasn't true?